Wii Must Increase Our Bust

February 3, 2009

This is the first time I’ve ever linked to a Yahoo! article, but as I avoided covering Wii Fit last time, Nintendo has forced its way into my blog with this headliner.

wii-fit-chuck-norris-1024x768

Another reason for accepting this as tonight’s topic falls on my parents’ shoulders. They actually played Wii Fit a week and a half ago and they loved it! My dad couldn’t stop telling the story of how my mom faced her brother and was punching at him instead of at the TV for Wii Sports Boxing. My mom talked about tipping forward while trying to do the ski jump. I cannot believe I had nothing to do with this moment whatsoever. They didn’t even bother to tell me about their delving into the gaming world until I Skyped them. Kids these days.

In all seriousness, the article really hits home with what my hypothesis and personal experience have hinted at: actively playing a video game (more than twitching the thumbs) is something that sounds like a great idea, but quickly loses its charm. I have no doubt that certain members of society are getting the maximum benefit out of the Wii Fit, either through inhuman willpower or a bet, but for the most part, this is a device that will go the way of the Nordic Track or the ThighMaster…or the Dodo. People love novelty ideas such as this and they especially love the idea of having friends over to make fools of themselves trying to hula five hoops, but when the newness wears off, the balance board gets tucked away and forgotten.

If you are one of the seperatists that have actually been using the Wii Fit balance board for its intended purpose for longer than a month (and at least 3 times a week), or if you know someone who has, I’d love to hear from you. I won’t ask for any alibis, I’ll take you at your word.

4 Responses to “Wii Must Increase Our Bust”

  1. Brian said

    I heard you on the latest Cryptic Allusion podcast and thought I would take a look at your site. Congrats on your new job BTW!

    I’ve had Wii Fit since July and both my wife and I have been pretty good and using it on a regular basis. Sure there are lapses, but usually those are because of getting sick or other aspects of life intruding. Honestly, what keeps us honest and makes us work out is our kids. The four year old really enjoys doing the exercises even if she isn’t doing them right have the time…and the 2-year old at least once a day asks us if he can “ess-er-cise.”

    I think what would have GREATLY enhanced Wii Fit was some sort of trainer that would actually help you put together a workout routine rather then leaving it to me the figure out which exercises I need to do and for how long. I’m hopefully that is something Nintendo will address in a possible addon or even a WiiWare download.

  2. drewmcgee said

    Brian, first off, thank you for checking out the blog and thank you for listening to the Cryptocast.

    Secondly, great story on your perseverence with the workout. I am truly impressed and may need to rethink my hypothesis. 😉 It’s amazing to hear that the kids are driving the fitness train!

    As for the trainer, very interesting concept. I haven’t played enough to know the full features of Wii Fit, but I would have assumed it would have personalized a regiment for you. Why else get all the individual stats? Good call. Let’s boycott Nintendo until they change their ways!

  3. Derek said

    I happened on your blog while looked for a Wii Fit image to shoop… But in any case, I’ve had Wii Fit for a couple months now, and have been using it regularly. And by “regularly,” I mean I’ve only missed a few days. Truth be told, though, I use it because I work at night, and my job, if you could actually call it that, consists of doing a whole lot of nothing. Gotta have something to do to pass the time, right?

    • drewmcgee said

      Derek, thanks for the comment. Glad to hear you’re getting some exercise since the job doesn’t provide any. So, in the past couple of months, have you noticed any changes in your overall physical fitness? Keep up the good work!

Leave a Reply

