Cabela’s Dangerous Hunts 2009 – Review (Wii)

January 26, 2009

Currently, I do not own a Wii. However, this weekend, I was in San Antonio visiting some family and had the unexpected opportunity to play both Wii Fit and Cabela’s Dangerous Hunts 2009. I’m choosing to cover this title over Wii Fit because, seriously, I think Fit has been covered.

"Simba, it's me! The great white hunter!"

"Simba, it's me! The great white hunter!"

Dangerous Hunts places you in the role of the hunter of all hunters, Flint Abrams (totally fictitious character, I looked it up). This man puts the late Steve Irwin, if not Steve McQueen, to shame. He can barrel roll with crocs, stab leaping cougars in the throat and rifle butt three hyenas with ease! Mix that in with Flint’s Hunter Sense, which darkens the screen and highlights surrounding beasts and you’ve got an expert who is called around the world to quelch daily issues with wildlife.

There was a bit of a learning curve with the zapper controller (Wii-mote on top as a barrel and the nunchuck as the stock) but once I understood all of this, the game became incredibly fun. One level stood out to me as a writer: India. Tigers escape from a truck hit by a rock slide. Your mission is to track the tigers and tranquilize them; any harm to the tigers results in a failed mission. The interesting part to me is the the herd of water buffalo. Peaceful giants grazing in a field quickly turn to angry, charging death-machines if you disturb them in the slightest. Because there is a time limit to achieve maximum upgrade points (the coolest part of the game: upgrades!), I wound up slaughtering all of the buffalo from a distance to avoid their horns while searching for tigers. It was a decision that gave me pause because I really did not want to kill them, but alas, my greed for a new rifle scope won out.

Pick up the game as a rental and if you end up enjoying it as much as I did, buy it. My nephew loved simply walking in circles and hearing the gun fire. I enjoyed the juxtaposition of Flint’s athleticism compared to 95% of the hunters I actually see in Cabela’s.

4 Responses to “Cabela’s Dangerous Hunts 2009 – Review (Wii)”

  1. Roddy said

    What? For REAL? You actually LIKED a Cabella’s game? I thought they were all horrible crap, developed by one-off game studios in Abu Dhabi.

  2. drewmcgee said

    Well, if you’ve truly played them ALL, it would seem you must have enjoyed something about them to make you keep trying the next. Besides, I’m in no way saying this should be at the top of anyone’s purchase list, but it definitely kept me attentive and playing. I was hoping to play it again this past weekend but was denied. 😦

  3. Roddy said

    Nah, I haven’t played any of them except once when I played the “Big Game Hunter” in the arcade… it was absolutely terrible.

  4. Roddy said

    That was a “thought they were all crap” because that’s what they seem like from watching videos, critical review, etc., not because I played every one of them and formed my opinion based on experience like I should have!

Leave a Reply

