Finally rocked it out!

January 14, 2008

Here is it! The first official blog. And what a weekend’s end to start it. Friday was kind of low-key as we met up with Mike and Pam and enjoyed a happy hour(s) at Opal Divines. From there we traversed to the Catfish Parlour. Now, keep in mind that generally – and this is a rule that I think most should follow – when a restaurant has a neon fish sign outside with a flapping tail and it says “Great food, Reel tasty”, I tend to stay away. Just a small thing I live by. But, the power of the group won me over (as it has done so many times before…like with Jager-bombs) and we dined in a small, family-oriented setting with a waitress named Bernie who wore the exact same perfume that my grandmother use to. And you know what? Not that bad, friends.

Saturday started out kind of lazy, but I took my busted PS3 to the shop (on a side note, I’m a little worried about dropping an expensive machine off at a place with a guy who looks like he lost in the “Garth” casting for Wayne’s World and who took all my contact information down on a Post-It…I didn’t even get a copy!), went to the bank and then decided that a picnic would be kind of a cool way to spend some time with Brandi. You see, I was recently summoned into the world of complete dorkdom by my brother-in-law. This world you may know as WoW if you are in fact a dork and World of Warcraft for everyone else (they have commercials starring Mr. T for it now…you’ve seen them). What does this mean for me? It means the beast that is the video game enthusiast inside of me is free to run about, wreaking havoc on every other aspect of my life…sometimes even jeapordizing my very employment.

So, in a conscious effort to staunch the flow of reality from seeping out of me, I went to the park with Brandi, Mike and Pam. Bull Creek Park, to be exact, and very well worth it. A gorgeous Texas winter day of 70 degrees without a cloud in the sky. We threw the football around, walked down the creek – I even scaled a cliff wall (easier to go up than down…if staying alive is a goal). Afterwards, Brandi and I decided to make it a “Clay Play” evening and before you roll your eyes and say, “This guy is gay,” I’ll say two things: 1) Brandi is my GIRLFRIEND and 2) Shut up. While Brandi made several interesting pots that you’ll never see because she destroys all traces of things that she makes that aren’t exactly perfect, I focused my creative bean on one sculpture…and I’ll be damned, it looks pretty good. It’s a warrior (insert all cracks on the influence of WoW here) with a shield and sword and helmet. Here’s a photo of it. Small Clay Warrior

Anyway, I think it looks awesome.

I actually finished it this morning and then we prepared to watch some football. Nothing like the deflation of the Cowboys losing a playoff game to top off the weekend, huh? But, to lift the spirits of everyone around, Pam brought over Rock Band, complete with lead guitar, bass, drums and mic. We played almost every song, switching roles as we went and finally decided that none of us were destined to really make it in a band.

All said, it was a great weekend and it reminded me of how much I don’t like working. Till next time.

Leave a Reply

